KNIGHTS FERRY


Once called Dentville, this picturesque mining center and trading post was founded in 1849. An early ferry carried Argonauts on their way to the southern mines. The rare wooden covered bridge, reportedly designed by U. S. Grant, brother-in-law of the Dent brothers, and the old flour mill were built there in 1854. The town served as the county seat from 1862 to 1872.

Designation:
• National Historic Site (75000490)
• State Historical Site (347)
Visited: 02/02/2016
LocationMap
Website: N/A